The tree branch fell

IMG_0803_b_CCWith a crack like a gun, the tree branch finally crashed to the ground, the bass tone of its impact rattling the windows in the house. The dry leaves followed it down in decisive fashion.

“That’s one for the record books, ain’t it kid?” the older gentleman crowed.

“Yeah, Dad. We got a good one.”

The father called up “Why don’t you come on down now and we’ll go see what your mom has by way of a snack?”

The son climbed higher up into the tree.

“I’m not that hungry. I’m going to try to take out these branches up here.”

The father watched him climb up, every second moving further and further out of reach.

“I heard you were looking at more colleges this week,” said the father. “I thought you already went and visited them all.”

“What?” the boy shouted down.

“I said I thought you had already seen all the colleges,” he yelled back up.

“I only looked at the ones in the state. There’s a couple in Michigan I’m looking at.”

The son was almost completely obscured by the leaves.

“Watch out dad, here it comes!”

Another tree branch impacted the earth as the father looked up, not seeing his son at all.

Leave a Reply

